HomeAstrologyChakras: A Beginner’s Guide to the 7 Chakras

Chakras: A Beginner’s Guide to the 7 Chakras

- Advertisement -

Our seven main chakras are wheels or vortices of life where energy funnels through us, to us, and from us. From that perspective, every bit of knowledge or energy that comes to us comes through the chakra system, is important. So this system is deeply connected to every way we are expressing and experiencing our life force.

Consider the chakra system as a map that is giving us an insight into our perception and experience of reality, relationships, success, and divine nature. 

The energy comes through us via two channels one is called Ida and the other is called Pingala. These are the female and male channels. The point of intersection is the center of the chakra. The chakra has a representation on both the front and back of our body. The back chakras have more of a past representation whereas the front is where we are right now and where we are going in the future. Some say there are 114 different chakras but there are seven main chakras in our body. 

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Color: Red

Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area

Organs of the body: Adrenal glands

The root chakra is the energy of the primal life force. And it is here that we connect with our physical bodies. When we look at this chakra, we look at belief systems. It is also very much rooted within our perception of life and so our sense of groundedness is primarily here. 

An unbalanced root chakra will manifest itself as problems with blood circulation, and problems with our legs. We’ll tend to spend more time in our heads and we’ll lose the feeling of strength and vitality in our physical bodies. 

It is the primary part of our physiology as the adrenal system. It is very important because the adrenal gland is our source of energy. Its imbalance can also cause adrenal fatigue and anemia. 

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana) 

Color: Orange

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel

Organs of the body: Reproductive organs

The sacral chakra is the gateway to our emotional bodies. So all of our emotional feelings about ourselves are held here. It is the center of our expression of creativity and sensuality. 

Blocked sacral chakra may cause depression, weakened immunity, and a lack of emotional expression in people. Imbalances in this chakra can also manifest as an overactive or diminished sensual desire. 

3. Solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

Color: Yellow

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

Organs of the body: Digestive system

This center is about digesting and assimilating ideas. It is also a gateway to our mental body. So when we hear about the connection between our gut and mental acuity, this is the reason. This center also relates to our sense of personal empowerment.

The imbalance of this chakra can cause digestive problems and an unclear sense of one’s place in this world.

4. Heart chakra (Anahata)

Color: Green

Location: Center of the chest, just above the heart

Organs of the body: Heart and lungs

The heart chakra is the bridge between the lower chakras and upper chakras. It is also the gateway to the astral realm. The astral realm holds our past life experiences so when we come into do past life healing we come into the frequency of the heart chakra.

A person with a blocked heart chakra will face difficulty in fully opening to intimate and vulnerable relationships that require authentic self-expression. 

5. Throat chakra (Vishuddha)

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

Organs of the body: mouth, jaws, tongue, pharynx, palate, shoulders, and neck.

The throat chakra is the source of our communication. It is where we articulate the authenticity of our voice and speak our truth with strength and grace. But more than that, it is our source of communion with humanity. Because it’s not just about speaking but also about listening. 

People with an imbalanced throat chakra often find themselves at the loss of words while trying to express their emotions. They may feel like there is a lump in their throat. Conversely, there may be an overage of words, sharing and expressing their feelings which never seems to come to an end. 

6. The third eye (Ajna)

Color: Purple/ Dark Blue

Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)

Organs of the body: Pineal gland

When we think about Ajna, we think about the vision, the path of the mystic, inner, and outer visions. It is also the gateway to the celestial bodies. 

People with an open Ajna center often see their spirit guides, the angelic realm, sacred geometry, and constructs that come from universal prospects. 

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Color: Violet/ White

Location: The very top of the head

Organs of the body: Brain and nervous system

This is where we connect and commute with the divine, and receive grace from the divine connection. 

When it is unbalanced, we don’t feel inspired by a higher purpose. We can also feel a sense of floating in the higher realms or we can feel stuck in our heads. When it is balanced, our sense of purpose in this world is very clear. Only a few people ever fully open the crown chakra, but when they do, they’re able to access higher consciousness. 

- Advertisement -

Most Popular