HomeSex & Relationships5 Types Of Love Languages

5 Types Of Love Languages

- Advertisement -

Can I ask you what your love language is? Have you ever thought about it? Hardly people know about it. 

Counsellor Gary Chapman introduced the love language concept in his books. Love language is the way that we want to be loved or the way we show our love to others. 

Love language is very important as it creates a huge difference in making a relationship bloom. In this article, we will talk about different types of love languages and how you can find yours. 

What Are the 5 Love Languages

The five love languages are:

  • Words of affirmation.
  • Quality time.
  • Physical touch.
  • Acts of service.
  • Receiving gifts.

They are all different forms of love language. However, they are interlinked. 

For instance, a person feels more loved and appreciated when their partner gets them a gift. On the other hand, some may feel loved when their partner shows affection through physical touch. 

Love language is a simple concept, yet it is vital to ensure that you know about it so that you don’t feel bad about not being loved or left out when you are in a relationship. Let’s understand more about each love language. 

Words of affirmation

Word of affirmation means a verbal expression of love like frequent compliments, expression of love- I love you and many other sweet verbal statements that make the other person feel content.

Physical touch

Physical touch is a pretty straightforward love language which means any form of physical contact that makes the other person feel loved. For example, holding hands, kissing, touching, cuddling, hugging or having sex.  

Quality time

Time is the most important aspect of a relationship. For some people spending quality time with each other is the way to feel happy in that relationship. When two people spend time with each other and enjoy company is what we consider quality time. This is another form of love language, and people with this type of love language go on frequent dates, lunch, dinner, etc. 


Gifts are another form of love language for a few people. Giving gifts to each other is also a way to show love to your partner. People with this type of love language give meaningful gifts to each other. 

Acts of service

Acts of service are meaningful gestures that make the other person feel loved and cared for. For instance, breakfast in bed, taking care of when your partner is sick etc. People with this love language show their love through thoughtful actions and make genuine efforts. 

Now let’s see how you can identify your love language.

To understand your love language, consider the way you show your love towards people in your life and what you expect from them. For example, you like to surprise your friends and family on their birthday to make them feel loved, or you feel appreciated when someone takes care of you when you are sick. 

The way you show love and the way you want people to show love is a clear sign of your love language. It might be possible that you may have multiple love languages, but one would be primary, and the other would be secondary.


Knowing about your love language is imperative to tell your romantic partner how to make you feel appreciated and valued. And knowing about your partner’s love language will help you make him feel loved. 

- Advertisement -

Most Popular